E P Jayarajan sworn in as minister
E P Jayarajan sworn in as minister

E P Jayarajan sworn in as minister

Thiruvannathapuram: CPM central committee member  E P Jayarajan was sworn in as minister again on Tuesday. Governor P. Sathasivam administered the oath of office and secrecy to Jayarajan at 10 in the morning at Raj Bhavan. He will take charge of the Industries Department.

Jayarajan is getting back to the cabinet after 22 months from resigning as minister due to nepotism charges. With the swearing in, the strength of the LDF ministry is 20.

The opposition boycotted the swearing in ceremony.

Jayarajan was forced to quit Pinarayi Cabinet in October 2016 after the state secretariat found lapses on his part in appointing Sre-emathy’s son P.K. Sudheer as KSIE MD.

In his second innings, 68-year-old Jayarajan will handle industries, commerce, youth affairs and sports. His induction led to a minor reshuffle in the portfolios of other ministers.

With Jayarajan's induction, the number of ministers from Kannur district will go up to 4.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.