Congress may filed 10 new candidates across Kerala
Congress may filed 10 new candidates across Kerala

Congress may filed 10 new candidates across Kerala

Thiruvananthapuram: All sitting Congress MPs from Kerala are expected to contest in the Lok Sabha elections, though the Vadakara constituency could see a new face as the incumbent and KPCC chief Mullappally Ramachandran is unlikely to contest. However, new candidates are expected in all the eight seats that Congress lost in the 2014 elections as well as in the Wayanad seat, apart from the Vadakara constituency, which the national party had won last time.

Wayanad seat is currently vacant after the death of Congress MP MI Shanavas.

The discussions to finalise Congress candidates for the polls will continue during the KPCC president’s 'Janamahayatra' which ends on February 28. The AICC has requested the candidate list from the state by February 20 as a partial national list could be declared five days later. The chance of postponing the deadline is slim since other states are in the final phase of naming their candidates.

A state election committee of 21 members will be formed soon. It is supposed to meet on February 17, when there is a break in the 'Janamahayatra' schedule.

Though Oommen Chandy’s name still surfaces among supporters for the Kottayam or Idukki seat, the former chief minister is reportedly lukewarm to the proposal. The final decision, however, rests with the High Command which would seek the advice of another veteran leader AK Antony in this matter.

Chandy will complete 50 continuous years in the assembly next year. He won first from the Puthuppally seat in 1970. Some opine he can't mark the silver jubilee in assembly by getting elected to the Parliament this year.

Mullappally has reiterated his stance not to contest even after demands from certain quarters to make him enter the fray.

Suggestions from several quarters to regain Thrissur constituency by pitching VM Sudheeran is strong despite the leader’s decision not to contest again. MM Hassan is reportedly trying to secure the Wayanad seat.

Youth Congress has staked claim to some seats. Its president Dean Kuriakose is a probable from Thrissur or Idukki and its state leaders Adam Mulsi and Sunil Lalur are in the reckoning for Wayanad and Alathoor seats. Former Youth Congress national secretary Mathew Kuzhalnadan too is a probable for Idukki or Chalakkudi, so is the KSU state president KM Abhijith for Vadakara.

Meanwhile, Congress Working Committee member Shanimol Usman is a strong probable from among women leaders.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.